University of Nevada, Reno

Faculty and Staff


Program Assistant / Office Manager: Kathleen Camino, M.A., French

Part-time Faculty / Webmaster: Lisa Corcostegui, Ph.D., Basque Studies (Anthropology)


William Douglass Distinguished Scholar: Santiago de Pablo, Ph.D., Modern History

Professor Emeritus: William A. Douglass, Ph.D., Anthropology

Editorial Board Member: Eric Herzik, Ph.D. Political Science

Assistant Professor: Xabier Irujo, Ph.D., History

Professor Emeritus: William H. Jacobsen, Ph.D., Linguistics

Independent scholar: Jose Mallea, Ph.D., Basque Studies (History)


Publication coordinator: Daniel Montero, M.A., Spanish Literature

Assistant Professor: Maria Jose Olaciregui, Ph.D., Basque Literature

Associate Professor, Co-Director: Sandra Ott, D. Phil., Social Anthropology

Associate Professor: Carmelo Urza, Ph.D., Spanish Literature

Professor Emeritus: Linda White, Ph.D., Basque Language and Literature

Professor, Co-Director: Joseba Zulaika, Ph.D., Anthropology

Graduate Students


Marian Vaczi, Hungary
Magda Czajkowska, Poland



About Us  |  Faculty & Staff  |  News & Events  |  Frequently Asked Questions | Basque Library & Databases  |  Online Courses | Academic Programs | Studies Abroad  |  PublicationsArt & Culture  |  Visitor Information   |  Grants | Tree Carvings | Oral Histories | Donors  |  Links  | Contact Us

Webmaster: Lisa Corcostegui, Ph.D. Updated October 16, 2009 .
Copyright © 2000-2004 the Center for Basque Studies, University of Nevada, Reno. All rights reserved.
CBS sunburst logo based on a sculpture by Jorge Oteiza, with permission of the artist