University of Nevada, Reno

Frequently Asked Questions VI
Basque Politics and Government

What type of government do the Basques have?

The Basque Country is divided between Spain, which is a constitutional monarchy, and France, a republic with a constitution. Within Spain, the Basque autonomous government  (Eusko Jaurlaritza) heads the three territories of Bizkaia, Gipuzkoa, and Araba, which form the Basque Autonomous Community, having some measure of home rule. The fourth Basque province within Spain, Nafarroa (Comunidad Foral de Navarra), has its own autonomous government as well.
See the Basque Government (Eusko Jaurlaritza) web site, and the Autonomous Government of Navarra site.



About Us  |  Faculty & Staff  |  News & Events  |  Frequently Asked Questions | Basque Library & Databases  |  Online Courses | Academic Programs | Studies Abroad  |  PublicationsArt & Culture  |  Visitor Information   |  Grants | Tree Carvings | Oral Histories | Donors  |  Links  | Contact Us