Cooperative Map

You can also get the map in pdf format.


Cooperative movement flag

Although it was proposed at the ICA II Congress in 1896, is in 1921 when the International Cooperative Alliance starts using the rainbow’s colors as a symbol of unity and diversity, on the International Cooperative Flag.

The flag contains red, orange, green, yellow, sky blue, dark blue and violet colors in horizontal stripes and in 1925, when the flag becomes official, ICA decides to place the red color above.

It adopts the rainbow, symbolizing the ideals and goals of universal peace, unity that overcomes the political, economic, social, racial or religious differences and the hope of humanity in a better world where freedom, personal dignity, social justice and solidarity reigns.


Red: stands for courage
Orange: offers the vision of possibilities
Yellow: represents the challenge that green has kindled
Green: indicates the challenge to strive for membership growth and of
           understanding of the aims and values of cooperation
Sky blue: suggests far horizons, the need to provide education and help less
           fortunate people and strive towards global unity
Dark blue: represents the less fortunate people who can learn to help themselves
           through cooperation
Violet: represents warmth, beauty and friendship

During the 2001 ICA Congress, was agreed to change the traditional flag to avoid confusion with other movements that had been adopting similar flags. The design made in 1995 to mark the centenary of ICA is chosen. The flag consists of a white background and in the center pigeons out of a rainbow in the first six colors and the acronym in the latest color... violet.


Bai Euskarari